Dominica 24 October, 2017; 03:50 AM UK
        About us
        Consular Issues
        Government Services
        Trade and Investment
        TS Erika


News Archive
Picture Archive

   Menu Dominica Country

The Commonwealth of Dominica

The Commonwealth of Dominica (not to be confused with the Dominican Republic) is an English speaking country in the Eastern Caribbean.  Dominica was named after its sighting on a Sunday by Christopher Columbus when he sailed past the island in 1493.  Dominica is a ruggedly beautiful mountainous country with a population of approximately 72,000 inhabitants.  Dominica is a Republic which is a member of the Commonwealth.  It enjoys Westminster style parliamentary democracy and being unspoiled the sobriquet “the Nature Island of the Caribbean”.

The island, 289 square miles (748.51 square kilometres), is situated at the northern end of the Windward chain of the Lesser Antilles, lying between the two French islands of Martinique and Guadeloupe (one hour by boat to either island) and is readily accessible from Antigua, Barbados, Guadeloupe, Martinique, St Lucia and San Juan.

More information on:
• Country profile
• Geography
• Population
• Government

More information

  22 October, 2017  
Meeting with Prime Minister Friday 27th October 7 pm to 9 pm
The Dominica High Commission is pleased to announce that the Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Dominica, the Honourable Roosevelt Skerrit,
  17 October, 2017  
Fellow Dominicans, residents, Friends of Dominica... Daily over the past week we updated you on various aspects of our relief and recovery efforts. Two weeks ago I shared with you the broad outlines of our vision and plan going forward.
  12 October, 2017  
Telling Our Story
Saturday 14-10-17 Lister Hall, Leytonstone, Doors 7pm - 9:30pm with interval

  News from Dominica